Ajayzzz's Blog

06/21/2009

Recovery Checklist: Take Responsibility for UR Recovery…

Personal Responsibility Checklist:
Ultimately, you are responsible for your own recovery. Your checklist is the way you learn to be accountable to yourself.

•    Am I doing my best to keep myself safe?
•    Am I surrounding myself with supportive people?
•    Am I trying to listen to healthy advice from supportive people?
•    Am I asking for what I need?
•    Am I getting what I really need by restricting/purging/binging?
•    Am I expressing how I really feel?
•    Am I doing the best I can right now?
•    Am I being honest with the support people in my life?
•    Am I being honest with my therapist?
•    Am I being honest with myself?
•    Am I asking for more help if I need it?

It is up to you to get what you need to recover. It is up to you to ask for help to get what you need to recover. It is up to you if you take your meds (if necessary) and it is up to you to say they aren’t working if they’re not. It is up to you to show up for your therapy appointments, and it’s up to you to be honest with your therapist and other support people in your life. AND if you are having a seriously hard time doing any of these things, it is up to you to say “I need more help here.”

EVERYONE has the ability within themselves to recover. Regardless of co-existing psychological illness, regardless of life circumstance, everyone can improve their life by eliminating the part of them that says “I hate me” and by getting rid of an unhealthy coping mechanism such as an Eating Disorder.
Fill up your recovery toolbox, reach out and ask for help, I know
YOU CAN DO IT!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.